Bone Clocks

I was intrigued to read Bone Clocks as it is written by David Mitchell also known for Cloud Atlas which was released as a film adaptation in 2012 and directed by Lilly and Lana Wachowskis. Having seen Cloud Atlas at the cinema I didn’t really fancy putting myself through the book as the film was complex and layered especially with the Wachowskis added element of reincarnation so I decided to read Bone Clocks. It was also a recommendation from Simon Mayo’s Book Club on radio two, I read the free chapters on the book club page before making the decision to buy the book.
What caught my attention firstly was that the chapters where written out like a dairy format starting in 1984 and ending in 2043, after catching up to where I left the book on the free chapters I realised how much the story had moved on from the beginning, by the time you reach the end you feel like your reading a completely different book (in a good way). The basic story arc is that you are following the life events of Holly Sykes and how history has a habit of repeating itself. It is very layered and you quickly learn how all the characters connect to one another even though time has moved on – proving that the world is a small place. Particularly like that the book is set in England.
Now that I have read Bone Clocks, I am even more intrigued about Cloud Atlas and I can see how easy it was to add the theme of reincarnation to cloud atlas (if the story runs with the same themes as Bone Clocks) I would also like to compare the two versions of Cloud Atlas. David MItchell’s newest book is Sladhouse (2015) and his older novels include The Thousand Autumns of Jacob de Zoet (2010), Black Swan Green (2006), Cloud Atlas (2004), Number9dream (2001) and Gostwrittern (1999). One last note, even though the books are stand alone apparently some of the characters do appear in the other books.
Leave a Reply

