Sharman’s Crossing

This book is the first book of Robin Hobb’s Solider Son Trilogy, apart from Fitz’s story arc this is my second favorite series by Hobb, if you’ve been following my book reviews you will know that I’ve just finished the Live Ship Trilogy and found this really hard going, in the sense of not connecting with characters and the story. This book is the complete opposite, straight away I connected with the main characters who is Nevare Burvelle and you follow his journey to the academy where he trains to be soldier. In my opinion the themes that were explored during the story progress were religion, family, friendship, environment and believing in yourself.

For those who are asking is it worth reading after Fitz’s story arc? My answer is yes. Bear in mind that this is a stand-alone trilogy and not part of the Eldering Realm, this is actually makes a refreshing change. Hobb informs you of cultural information on the people and historical information on the landscape, which I found fascinating.

Once piece of background information which I loved was whilst following Nevare you learn that he is a Gernia and their religion is called Gernian, who believe in “firstborn noble sons are heir to the family fortunes, second sons bear swords as soldiers, and third sons are consecrated to the priesthood.” This got me thinking about today’s society and religion views, can you imagine if this was brought into the 21st Century?

I am definitely going to read book two and three in this trilogy, once I have finished Rain Wild Chronicles. What am I reading next? Currently I am reading Mr Mercedes By Stephen King, as I just felt that I wanted a change from Hobb. What’s next after Mr Mercedes? Well, I’ve decided to read Tad Williams The Dragonbone Chair: Memory, Sorrow and Thorn as he’s bringing out a new book on 5th Jan 2017 (according to Amazon) belonging to this series.

Eventually I want to read G.R.R Martin’s Game of Thrones series, considering that the Dragonbone Chair: Memory, Sorrow and Thorn is the source of inspiration to Game of Thrones, I thought William’s trilogy would be a good place to start. Then I’ll go back to Hobb’s Fitz and the Fool trilogy and read book 2 before the new third book titled Assassin’s Fate which due out in the summer of 2017.

I will review Solider Son Trilogy in full once I have read all the books.


Finally Finished the Live Ship Trilogy !

Hi Everyone,
I have now completely finished the Live Ship trilogy (at long last), out off all the series written by Hobb this has been the slowest and longest story for me. Ill try to not to moan about to much in the full review, but first I will do a recap on books 1 and 2.
The LiveShip Trilogy includes:
Book One is Ship of Magic
Book Two is The Mad Ship
Book Three Ship of Destiny
What’s the trilogy about?
The main set of characters you get to know are the Vestrit trader family who are Ronica who is married to Ephron, they have two girls called Althea and Keffria is married to Kyle and they have three children called Malta, Wintrow and Seldron. Ephhron owns a liveship her name is Vivacia. A liveship is special sailing boat which is made out of wizard wood and once quicken it moves faster than a normal sailing boat. The boat also requires a family member on board as it has a personality and emotions like a human being. Besides Vivacia, you are introduced to other liveship’s and they are Paragon and Ophelia. The antagonist characters in the Ship of Magic are Captain Kennit, Sorcor and Etta. Other characters include Rain Wild Traders, Brashen and David Restart.
In my previous review I have stated that I found the books hard going, the story wasn’t gripping and that it was curiosity that made me carry on reading. Some of the story picks up in book 3 but it’s still missing something and I cant quite put my finger on it, compared to Fitz’s story arc I brought the next book straight after finishing the current read as I couldn’t wait to carry on reading! With this trilogy, I was glad the it had ended. Saying that Paragon and Malta do become my favourite characters in this trilogy as they change and develop so much from the beginning. It is also interesting learning and discovering the places you’ve heard about so much in fitz’s story arc. One last thing to point out is you do get the origin story of dragon Tanglila and how she becomes part of the eldering story arc, as she plays a massive role in the other books.
For book 3 I used my free audible book from Amazon, it took a short time to get used to listening to a story rather than physically reading on my kindle, it was handy during the day whilst I working on my card shop/cleaning/cooking I could listen to the book, a nice change from listening to the radio. Now that I have finished the audible story I found it strange picking up my kindle to read again, although I have missed reading in bed. In a perfect world I think I would have both going, using audible during the day then in the evening/bed time reading pick up on the kindle.
Currently reading Sherman’s Crossing by Hobb this trilogy is the only one that inst in the Elderling realm story arc, I am intrigued to see where it will take me. My reading plan is to finish this and go back to finish the Dragon Keeper series, then go back Sherman’s Crossing (If I like it)
It’s been a while since I last posted, as I have finished writing up reviews on my back catalogue of books which I have read. I’m going to keep the blog updated as much as possible, the reviews will appear when I finished a book.
Thank you for taking your time to read this blog post : )

Thoughts on what to read next?

Thought Id give you up an update on what am I reading next as Im close to finishing Dragon Keeper. I have decided to go back to the Liveship Trilogy by Hobb and read book two then progress onto book three, I am highly intrigued by the story in the Liveship as there is a bit of a cross over with characters and story arc in the Dragon Keepper. Before descending in Liveship Trilogy I will read The Reflections of Queen Snow White by David Meredith.

How do I choose what to read next? 
Well, for the last few years I have been reading Fit’z story arc by Robin Hobb having nine books to indulge in I decided to read a trilogy then have a break and something completely different and start on the next trilogy in Fitz’s story arc, now that I have finished Fit’z story arc I am reading the other Elderling realm books.
What me makes carry on reading a book?
Sometimes it is a character that I get attached to, other times I just get lost in the world that has been built up by the author and I just want to know more. Usually I give the book a chance to develop as so much can happen in the first few chapters/part one, a long time ago I would just read the first page and if this didn’t get my attention then I’d put the book down. Over the years I’d to think I have become more open minded and let the book take me on a journey.